Saturday, January 24, 2009

Catherine's List

Catherine found The Snob through a websearch. She likes classic names in the vein of Emily, Charlotte, Anna, Abigail, Nathaniel, Benjamin and James. Her daughter Olivia Wyn is two and mystery baby is on the way. Wyn is a family name and she will most likely use it again for the second baby. I tended to like mulitsyllable names with Olivia and I tried to avoid names ending in 'er' since their last name does and names like Hunter Weber are just too 'r' heavy for my liking.

Olivia was consistantly in the 200s from 1880-1980, but it started to climb in the '90s on into the 2000s. I used the Voyager website to try to find names that have been consistant, yet not trendy, and would compliment the pretty antiquity of Olivia Wyn.

Ada
Amelia
Audrey
Cecily
Caroline
Cora
Elisabeth
Eva
Frances
Hazel
Iris
Maggie (Margaret)
Mallory
Meredith
Natalie
Neva
Polly (I love Polly!)
Rosalie
Ruby
Sophie
Stella
Susanna
Theresa (Tess as a nickname?)
Una
Victoria
Violet

Andrew
Archer
Arlo
Bennett
Brooks
Byron
Caleb
Charles
Conrad
Dashiell (we've watched The Incredibles a lot lately)
Dominic
Edmund
Eli
Felix
George
Grant
Henry
Jacob
Jackson
Keaton
Leo
Lewis
Malcolm
Orion
Oscar
Rowan/Roan
Samuel
Victor
Vincent

Catherine, I know you liked Emily and Owen going into this list and my unprofessional advice is go with what you love. If you like Emily and are nervous about the popularity, check my list of Emily variations. Good luck and happy baby naming!

1 comment:

Tracy said...

Austin's a good name to go with Olivia, too. :)